Quick note: libvirt log files

Today I wanted to start my VMs and work but bumped into a rather nasty issue: libvirt refused to launch my VMs and kept saying:

libvirtError: Unable to read from monitor: Connection reset by peer

Google didn’t help much, I’m guessing because this error is way too generic. However, I bumped into a post that suggested checking libvirt’s logs and the complete path to them.

As a person with a bit of background as a system administrator, I’m quite embarassed I didn’t think of it before. I can’t even stress enough the importance of log files. Especially when you bump into an error like the one above, the log files can give you precious insight into the problem.

And sure enough, the log file said:

Virtio-9p Failed to initialize fs-driver with id:fsdev-fs0 and export path:/home/tina/staging

I moved the staging directory some other place last night and forgot about it. šŸ™‚ Putting it back into this location (alternatively, I could’ve edited the path used by the VM) solved the problem.

By the way, libvirt keeps its logs in

/var/log/libvirt/qemu/<image name>.log

Leave a Reply

